General Board (41 Members)

​​Baptist General Convention of Virginia

We are BGC…Bringing People Together, Growing Churches, and Changing Communities! 

​                                                                                                        ~ Act 1:8; Matthew 9:35-38; Mark 10:13-16


  • The Rev. Dr. Leo Whitaker 


  • Mrs. Sheryl Blowe McDowney

           Director of Christian Faith Formation

  • T​he Rev. Dr. J. Elisha Burke

           Director of Sacred Spaces, Men's                     Ministry, Health Wellness, and Social               Justice

  • The Rev. Janet L. Wynn

        Accounting Consultant

  • The Reverend Dr. William H. Whitaker, II   Director of Clergy Ministry and   Leadership Development

  •  Mrs. Keshia H. Butler

        Program Secretary

  •  Mr. Bruce J. Martin

        Maintenance Technician

Commissions (15 Chairpersons)

  • Christian Education/Faith Formation 
  • Covenant
  • Credentialing
  • Evangelism
  • ​Facility Management
  • Finance
  • Health
  • Human Resources
  • Missions
  • Publishing/Resource Development
  • Publicity/Special Events
  • Social Concerns/Justice
  • Technology
  • Worship and Arts
  • Youth and Young Adults

Our Leadership

State Officers

  • The Rev. Dr.  James E. Victor, Jr.               President                                                   Pastor, Mt. Olive Baptist Church

           Arlington, VA

  • The Rev. Milton P. Bunting                                     1st Vice President                                      Pastor, Ebenezer Baptist Church             Exmore, VA

  • The Rev. Dr. James E. Coleman, Jr.  

       2nd Vice President

       Pastor, Providence Transformation                 Ministries, Int'l

       Lynchburg, VA

  • The Rev. Dr. Griselda A. Bayton

       3rd Vice President

       Pastor, Trinity Baptist Church

       Center Cross, VA  


  •  The Rev. Dr. Glenn E. Porter, Sr.               Secretary                                                     Pastor, Queen Street Baptist Church       Norfolk, VA   

  • The Rev. Dr. William J. Reid                      Assistant Secretary                                    Pastor, New Hope Baptist Church            Bristol, VA

  • The Rev. Willis A. Funn


       Powhatan, VA

  • ​The Rev. Dr. Robert L. Pettis, Sr.


       Pastor, Zion Baptist Church

       Richmond, VA

  • The Rev. Dr. Robert G. Murray

           Chairperson, BGC Foundation Board

       Pastor, First Baptist Church Bute Street

       Norfolk, VA

​       The Rev. Dr. Raymond L. Palmer​​, Esq.

       Pastor, Oak Grove Baptist Church

​       Hanover, VA

Ministry Presidents

  • The Rev. Dr. Gregory L. Beechaum, Sr.

           Clergy Ministry 

       Powhatan, VA

  • Mr. Larry Picnhback

           Men’s Ministry

       Danville, VA

  • Mrs. Polly Jones Mason

           Women’s Ministry

       Richmond, VA